Sep 18

NIST Symposium Honoring David Wineland

“If there was an international nice-guy prize, David Wineland probably could win that too.  As it is, he’ll have to settle for the Nobel Prize in physics.” – Washington Post I was honored to participate in the Symposium celebrating David Wineland’s 42 years of service to NIST on August 10, 2018.  It was great to […]

Jan 15

ISP Lab Researcher Interviewed by LiveScience

Ph.D. Candidate and Isp Lab researcher Brandon Jackson was recently interviewed for an article on LiveScience. In the article, Brandon discusses the applications of ferrofluids and how these fluids form their captive patterns.

Jan 8

MTU Alum Capt. Jake LaSarge to USAF Test Pilot School

The MTU Aerospace Enterprise is proud to share the news that Capt. Jake LaSarge was recently accepted into the USAF Test Pilot School as a Flight Test Engineer.  During his undergraduate study Capt. LaSarge was the student Program Manager of our Oculus nanosatellite – which is slated for launch on a Falcon Heavy in April, […]

Dec 14

Stratus Passes Critical Design Review

On December 7 a team from NASA-Goddard Spaceflight Center conducted a thorough design review of Michigan Tech’s Stratus cloud imaging satellite.  While we suffered a few nicks and dings from the event (as is common during CDR), we passed and can now move on to system integration in preparation for an upcoming launch.  Thanks to all of the […]

Nov 28

Dr. Kurt Terhune Successfully Defends

Kurt Terhune successfully defended his dissertation titled: “Influence of Magnetic Nanoparticles and Magnetic Stress on an Ionic Liquid Electrospray Source.”  Congratulations to Dr. Terhune!  Acknowledgments to NASA and the Air Force Office of Scientific Research for supporting Kurt’s research activities.  

Oct 18

Building a Nanosatellite in Under 30 Seconds

OK, so maybe there is a little photographic trickery going on to make this look easy.  The actual build took approximately 4 days, but still a group of undergraduate students assembling a satellite on campus shows us how fast space technology is changing.  The cost to build and launch a satellite is now about the […]

Oct 16

ISP Lab Researchers and Alumni attend IEPC 2017

Members and alumni of the Ion Space Propulsion Laboratory attended the 35th International Electric Propulsion Conference (IEPC) which took place October 8 – 12, 2017 in Atlanta Georgia. Current members of the lab presented progress on ongoing research on Ionic Liquid Ferrofluid electrospray. The IEPC is held every two years and is attended by over […]

Jun 19

Oculus-ASR Nanosatellite Ships Out!

After six years of development, hundreds of undergraduate student hours, and countless cans of Monster energy drink the Michigan Tech Oculus nanosatellite shipped out on June 15, 2017.  This 70-kg satellite will be used as an optical calibration target by ground observers who will attempt to decode how it is oriented and whether or not […]

Jun 12

Isp Lab Researchers Visit Yale

On June 9th and 10th, the Ion Space Propulsion Lab staff visited Yale University, in New Haven Connecticut, where Prof. King gave an invited talk at the John Fenn Centennial symposium to celebrate the 100th anniversary of John Fenn.

Mar 20

MTU micro propulsion technology featured on MIPlasma

The Michigan institute for Plasma Science and Engineering (MIPSE), together with the National Science Foundation and the Department of Energy, has a great series of short clips describing how plasma affects our lives.   In December 2015 MIPSE interviewed Professor King to understand how ionic liquid ferrofluids might be used to provide propulsion for the […]

Feb 16

The new satellites are here! The new satellites are here!

MTU is excited to accept new cubesat hardware from Clyde Space. The shipment includes single-board computer, electrical power system, ADAC module, and flatsat test breakout board for Auris and Stratus. Cubesat technology has come a long way since the roll-your-own days of Oculus and HuskySat.

Nov 3

Isp Lab Submits Video to APS Gallery of Fluid Motion

Members of the Isp lab have submitted a video to the American Physical Society Gallery of Fluid Motion. This gallery is designed to be a “non-technical presentation to share the aesthetics of one’s research with fellow researchers and the general public.”  The video submitted by the Isp lab is titled: “Electric and Magnetic Fluid Spraying Instabilities” […]

Dec 9

Dr. Lyon B. King gives seminar at MIPSE

Dr. King was the invited speaker at the December Michigan Institute for Plasma Science and Engineering seminar held in Ann Arbor where he described on-going research in the area of superparamagnetic ionic liquids and their potential use as spacecraft thruster propellant.

Aug 29

EJ Meyer Receives Winnikow Fellowship

The Ion Space Propulsion lab is proud to announce that one of their members, E.J. Meyer, has received the Winnikow Fellowship for his work titled: “Electrospray from an Ionic Liquid Ferrofluid utilizing the Rosensweig Instability.” The Winnikow fellowship is awarded in remembrance of Dr. Svetlana Winnikow.

Apr 23

Kurt Terhune Receives NASA Fellowship

The Ion Space Propulsion lab is proud to announce that one of their members, Kurt J. Terhune, has received the NASA Space Technology Research Fellowship for his work titled: “Mass Measurements of a Ionic Liquid Ferrofluid Electrospray.” Kurt is one of 65 students to receive this prestigious award.

Jan 18

MTU wins Air Force Competition – DoD will launch satellite

Michigan Tech University was chosen as the winning school in the Air Force Research Laboratory’s University Nanosatellite flight competition review. The MTU vehicle is called Oculus-ASR. The spacecraft is 70 kg and about half the size of a refrigerator. The spacecraft’s mission will improve techniques that the Department of Defense currently uses to keep track of all objects in space.

Jun 16

Dr. Lyon B. King wins SAE Engineering Education Award

Dr. King was recently awarded the SAE International’s Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award. The award was established in 1965 in honor of long-time member and former SAE president Ralph R. Teetor. Dr. King is grateful for receiving this honor